After the Stanley Cup playoffs are over the NHL hosts an award show.  They hand out trophies to individual players for outstanding performances during the regular season. They have different trophies for the different positions and even one for the head coaches. Obviously the ultimate trophy the teams want is the Stanley Cup but there are around fourteen other trophies.

The main trophies are the Hart, Selke, Norris, Vezina, Calder, Art Ross and the Smythe. The Hart is awarded to the most valuable player of the league during the regular season. The Norris is for the defenseman who shows the greatest all-round ability in the position, while the Vezina is awarded to the top goaltender.  The Calder trophy is given to the best rookie of the season and the Art Ross is for the player who led the league in total points.

Over the years some San Jose Sharks have won different trophies except for the obvious big one. Evgeni Nabokov won the Vezina and was the first Shark to win a Vezina. Jonathan Cheechoo won the Rocket Richard, which is awarded to the player that scored the most goals in the season. Joe Thornton won the Art Ross and Hart. The San Jose Sharks also won the Clarence S. Campbell Bowl last season after clinching the western conference and heading to the final.